(settings) | Login Skip Navigation LinksRSC Home > Reports & News > 2019’s Champions of Motorsport

2019’s Champions of Motorsport

The 2019 international racing season came to a thrilling end on Sunday, at the Sepang Circuit in Malaysia. With all final berths sealed, we take a look at the top performers who join Formula One king Lewis Hamilton in the four wheels championship. Fans can bet on motorsport with Betway in the upcoming 2020 season.

World Endurance Championship (WEC): Fernando Alonso, Kazuki Nakajima, and Sebastien Buemi

For the first time in history, the WEC season was run across winter, and the Toyota trio led by Alonso made history in a spectacular season that lasted more than a year. They kicked the campaign in May 2018 at Spa and raced 6 rounds into 2019, which included Sebring’s 1000-mile event, before concluding at Le Mans 24 Hours.

Scoring back-to-back victories in Le Mans counted towards their World title wins, after also winning the 2018 Spa in the season opener.

World Rally Championship (WRC): Ott Tänak

The Estonian broke the Sebastien monopoly when he became the first man going by another name to win the WRC in 17 years. It is a championship that has been dominated by Sebastien Loeb, the Citroen ace who won for nine seasons in a row, before passing the mantle to name sake Sebastien Ogier who held the title for 6 seasons in a row.

Ogier was bidding for a seventh in a row, as well as becoming the first driver since Juha Kankkunen to win the championship with three different manufacturers after joining the Citroen team.

Indycar: Josef Newgarden

Josef first won the Indycar crown in 2017 and he has nailed it for the second time this year. The American won four rounds, but it was Frenchman and team-mate Simon Pagenaud who made the headlines after winning the Indianapolis 500 in May.

Josef Newgarden is only 28 years old, and he will be expected to be the man to beat in future Indy titles.

Formula 2: Nyck de Vries

A lot was expected from the 24-year old Dutchman since his boyhood days with McLaren. When everyone tipped him to be the next Lewis Hamilton, things did not quite go his way, but in his third Formula 2 season, he won four races to win with Art Grand Prix, the same team Hamilton won with in 2006, back then known as GP2.

De Vries has joined Mercedes, but he’ll be heading to Formula E to try his hand in Mercedes premier campaign in the all-electric series. Betting fans shall be keen on the young driver when betting with Betway after showing so much potential.

Formula 3: Robert Shwartzman

His persistence to stick with Prema after the 2018 FIA European F3 Championship finally paid off as the Russian secured 3 wins, along with his first major single-seater title. This was after the launch of the F1-supported FIA F3 Championship in 2019.

His next challenge is to help Prema win another title in a season where he will be Mick Schumacher’s team-mate in F2.

W Series: Jamie Chadwick

There were claims of women segregation in motorsport, but finally the all-female single-seater series was launched in 2019. Jamie Chadwick becomes the winner of the inaugural W series championship. It was a close call for the Brit after Alice Powell, also from Britain pushed her all the way. Chadwick will be looking to defend her title in 2020, but this certainly will be tougher.

Random Photo
39 - Porsche 996 GT3 - DGR Coast Racing